No Pork Sausages Mom Please!!!!! Like this if you love Hip Hop!

Awww! Early 90’s hip hop is like that family member you love dearly but seldom see. When you do reunite with them, its as if you’ve been transported back to a magically delicious era of Afrikan influenced brightly colored clothes, troop leathers, and shelltoe adidas. *sighing* Excuse me while I reminisce over you. I remember Grand Verbalizer telling me what time it was and thinking that by the time Chuck D actually got to Arizona someone was getting a serious whooping! I remember Flavor Flav telling the world that 911 emergency response systems were a joke.

“I call a cab ‘cause a cab will come quicker
The doctors huddle up and call a flea flicker
The reason that I say that ‘cause they
Flick you off like fleas
They be laughin’ at ya while you’re crawlin’ on your knees”

Flavor Flav from “911 is a joke”, 1990

Spoken in the dialect of street Kings and not the Queen’s English, Flav’s lyrics speak to an all too common urban reality of slow or unresponsive urban emergency response. I remember Virginia State University’s own Das Efx exclaim loudly about the ills of pork consumption to their dear mothers. The warm summer days on Auburn Ave in Atlanta listening to the Roy Ayers sampled sounds of Brand Nubian encouraging me to wake up and open my third eye. I miss those days perhaps the same way my elders yearn for ye olde days of Motown. Instead of seeing an outgrowth of this consciousness that was being cultivated we see skinny jeans, over the top jewelry that would make Liberace say chill, and often directionless lyrics that drop the listeners IQ with every passing play. The one constant about the universe is there is and always will be change. So while I do not fully overstand some of what I currently hear, I give respect for one’s right to express themselves. I would only ask my younger brothers and sisters to ask themselves, What do you stand for? What message are you trying to send to the world through your music? Someone please explain it because I just don’t get it. Well I’m going to dust off my kangol and listen to some COOL J. Peace and love. Audi 5000……

Dathistoryguy

4 thoughts on “No Pork Sausages Mom Please!!!!! Like this if you love Hip Hop!

    • I haven’t forget you Ms. Lorin! I’m researching for an article in response to your comment now. It’ll get posted in the next few days or so. Keep tuning in and keep being brilliant!
      Dathistoryguy

Leave a Reply

